Destinations / Hawaii

Beyond Oahu’s North Shore and Shrimp Shacks: Part I

Hawaii’s beautiful island of Oahu has a little bit of everything — from lush tropical settings, to historical sites and the bustling hub also known as Waikiki.

My first recollection of Hawaii can be attributed to the Brady Bunch on TV. I recall the episodes where the family took a vacation there and encountered a series of unfortunate events because of a Tiki statue one of the kids found — I think it was Bobby if I’m not mistaken.

Fortunately, my vacation was picture perfect and home base was a beautiful 5 bedroom house nestled quietly on the North Shore of this amazing island, away from the hustle and bustle of busy Waikiki. The North Shore is known for the massive waves that pound the shoreline and therefore making it a prime surfing location. I’m not a surfer so all I could do was enjoy watching all the talented surfers do something I could only dream about doing.

The ocean came right up to the back of the house so waking up to the sounds of the ocean waves hitting the shore or watching beautiful sunsets were just part of the week-long routine.

I could have stayed at the house all week long with its magnificent views, but there’s so much to see and do on this island. The winding roads take you from the most isolated beaches along the shore where I learned how to snorkel, then through mountainous  scenery in the middle of the island, to the heart of Waikiki and the throngs of tourists, hotels, restaurants and shopping.

Not far from Waikiki is the famed Diamond Head volcanic crater. Not for the faint of heart, it’s a hike from the base all the way to the top of the crater rim with spectacular 360 degree views. Part of the trail is paved, but most of it is on rugged terrain and so it’s not ideal if you have flip-flops on.

Another must-see on this island is of course, Pearl Harbor. There’s such a solemnity as you approach the floating monument from a small vessel and then once on board, imagining the tragic events that happened over half a century ago.

On the last full day of the trip, we stumbled upon the majestic Koolau Mountain Range which today is better known for the scenic landscape and locations where they filmed the hit show “Lost”.  Another beautiful location on this diverse island.

As I look back at my photos of this beautiful island and the various areas I had a chance to explore, there’s one photo which I never took and regret to this day. When I think of Hawaii, one of the greatest memories I have is of one of the most simple pleasures I experienced. I had mentioned earlier about the winding roads all around the island. As you drive through these winding roads, you may notice a little shack built in the middle of nowhere and you’ll see cars parked just off the side of the road. Pull over and what you’ll find is one of the most delectable eating experiences….a shrimp shack.

I’m not talking about a Food Truck which has become popular of late, but an actual free-standing shack by the side of the highway where they freshly prepare shrimp. You get a massive plate filled with cooked shrimp and a heaping mound of white rice. Grab a wooden picnic table and eat with your hands peeling each jumbo piece of shrimp while enjoying the scenery.  And speaking of food, on the North Shore of the island, on Kamehameha Highway at Sunset Beach is Ted’s Bakery. You’ll discover delicious baked goods and meals, perfect to go for whatever exploration you have planned for the day. Fortunately for us, it was just down the road from the house so you can’t beat that!

Baked goods and shrimp on the side of the road — that’s my Oahu!

Leave a comment